Next up…

img_0946-1img_1553During spring break last week I had my scheduled Hysteroscopy. This was the last little road block (we hope anyway) before we can finally do our first transfer. This is where the doctor goes in and removes these polyps that have developed in my uterus. It’s a very simple procedure but they do put me under for it. Unfortunately for me, this is the second time in 4 months that I’ve had to do this AND the anesthesia they use makes me super sick afterwards. I spent the whole day (after I got home) on the couch trying to sleep it off.

The good news is that the doctor seemed pretty confident that we can move forward with the transfer! Now this again, will take about a month. I need to wait for my cycle to finally arrive and then I’ll need to take some more medication to prepare for the embryo. Progesterone and Estrogen – did I mention that the progesterone will be an injection in the butt………..

Yes… I thought I was done with injections but the doc was like.. HA! You thought wrong! AND it gets to go in my butt. I’m a little salty about it but it is what it is. I’ll get over it. At least Garrett has to be the one to inject me haha.

I’m just waiting now for my cycle to begin so we can finally get our transfer calendar made. Then we’ll know when I need to start taking these medications, for how long, how often, and when we can finally schedule the transfer.

Now, after the transfer happens, I’m considered PUPO (pregnant until proven otherwise). Since you can clearly see the doctor put the embryo in the uterus (you’re awake for this) it’s just a matter of does the body accept it and does the embryo latch on correctly. I’ll still have to wait a few weeks after the transfer to know if we are actually pregnant or not. They will schedule me to come back into the office for some more blood work which will determine if I am or not.

So that’s where we are right now! Still a waiting game but everyday we get closer and closer to transferring one of our little embryos.

Update: I’ve started my cycle. Will update on my last doctors appointment (where they stressed me the f out) later this week.

Leave a comment