Our Successful Embryo Transfer

It finally happened! We are so thrilled to announce that our second embryo transfer was a success! We haven’t updated you all on our IVF journey for the last three months because we’ve been secretly keeping this wonderful surprise. I still can’t believe it. After our first failed transfer, which we were devastated about (check out the post here), we regrouped, talked with our doctor, and realized that (because of my cycle) we could go ahead and jump right back into another round. So right before our anniversary, we did our transfer.

We waited the horrid two weeks (since that’s how long it takes to determine if the embryo stuck or not) and on the last day of school, I got the call from my doctor…. THAT WE WERE POSITIVE!!!!! I literally turned to my friend Sam (who works with me) and started screaming and crying lol – see pictures below 🙂

We wanted to shout the news to everyone the day we found out but decided to wait until the end of the first trimester just to be on the safe side (knock on wood still).

Transfer Day:

The morning of the transfer, I started off by trying my best to be as comfortable as possible. I ordered this shirt from a store on etsy (link) for the transfer – perfect considering how obsessed Garrett is with Game of Thrones and yes, he also wore a GOT shirt too.

After drinking a crap ton of water (because you need to have a full bladder for the transfer), I waited for the doctor to arrive. Everyone in the office was very supportive and excited for today. Which honestly, made it so much more special for us. To know that everyone was rooting for this to work.

I had two nurses, the doctor, and Garrett all in the room with me. So yes, it was crowded. The doctor was getting everything ready for the actual embryo transfer (which I won’t give you all the details but it’s not comfortable). We were able to see everything going on via the ultrasound screen which was monitoring my uterus. Finally, the doctor was ready and the embryologist came in with my embryo. It took only a moment and then BAM! The embryo is in! My nurses were amazing and Garrett was holding my hand the hold time. I didn’t watch the magic moment (because I was just too emotional for that) but Garrett did. He said he saw the embryo (and fluid) on the screen join with my uterus. The doctor told us it was a beautiful transfer.

They had me lay down for just a few moments and then left to give me and Garrett a moment alone. We did decide which gender we wanted……if you’re curious……….we picked a BOY!!!!! ❤

I still can’t believe that it worked and he’s in there. We’ve seen him a couple of times now, which I’ll share photos of later on but OMG! We’re pregnant! Thank you to my family, friends, and all of you for the continued support and positivity during this whole process. We are so grateful for the outpouring love. Finally, thank you to Shady Grove Fertility for helping us getting us to this point xoxo

We are currently 13 weeks due February 1st.

One thought on “Our Successful Embryo Transfer

Leave a comment